Home/ Capa Grand Prize Hungary 2015

Capa Grand Prize Hungary 2015

The Robert Capa Photography Grand Prize was founded and the corresponding contest is announced by the Robert Capa Center of Contemporary Photography in 2014, on the 101st anniversary of the birth of its eponym, as a recognition of the work of photographers who provide an outstanding achievement in the field of Hungarian photography.

The Capa Grand Prize Hungary may be awarded every year to an author who is working in any branch of photography and who has a well-founded professional history and already gave evidence of an outstanding talent. The prize is founded in order to emphasize the Capa Center’s commitment to encourage artists to create new works of art which contribute to the enrichment of our society. The prize aims at promoting the development of the artists in order to encourage their experimentation in the future.

The Capa Grand Prize may only be awarded to the winner of the contest, it is not based on nomination. Individuals or small groups, Hungarian citizens or foreign citizens who live in Hungary are entitled to enter the contest. The contest is not anonymous.

The contest can be entered with an unpublished work already in progress and a synopsis drafting the continuation or the completion of this work. We expect to receive entries and synopses to the contest, which give evidence of socially committed methods of artistic work. In the first phase of the contest, the jury awards fellowships to three candidates who continue their ongoing work on the basis of their submitted synopsis which they report to the jury. Then, the jury awards the grand prize to one of the three fellows from the shortlist in the second phase of the contest.

The schedule of the contest:
• the deadline of submitting the entries: Sunday midnight, 5 April 2015
• the announcement of the results and the awarding of three fellowships:
Tuesday, 26 May 2015
• the deadline of submitting the completed works and reports by the fellows: Sunday, 27 September 2015
• the awarding of the grand prize: Thursday, 21 October, 2015

Each fellow receives a total of HUF 500 000 in one amount. The grand prize winner receives HUF 3,500 000 in addition.

The awarding of the fellowships and the prize is decided by an independent jury of six renowned Hungarian and international professionals. The work of the jury is supported by a secretary who has no right to vote. The award judging process is private.

Members of the jury:
1. Attila Horányi, president of the jury, art historian, aesthete, assistant professor at the Institute for Theoretical Studies, Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design
2. Péter Korniss, Kossuth Prize winning photographer
3. Monika Perenyei, art historian, Institute of Art History of the Research Centre for the Humanities of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
4. Regina Anzenberger, owner and director of Anzenberger Gallery
5. Dimitri Beck, editor-in-chief at Polka magazine
6. Clare Grafik, head of exhibitions at The Photographers’ Gallery

secretary: István Virágvölgyi, deputy director for professional affairs, Capa Center

The entries must include:
• information about the candidate: data, contact details, a photograph – a document proving the citizenship or residence may be requested by the organizers during the whole period of the contest
• the entry: presentation of the work in progress (photographs, series of photographs, videos, series of videos, documentation, etc.)
• a synopsis, a project plan: maximum two pages in A4 size in each language where the candidate explains on how s/he intends to continue or to complete the work in progress (elaboration of the content and schedule).
• a detailed curriculum vitae
• a portfolio: maximum five previous works

The Capa Center will display and propagate the prize-winning works. The Capa Center will not obtain the copyright of the works in progress, but it is entitled to use every prize-winning work and the related contents (photographs, videos, documentation, books, etc.) in connection with the propagation and the communication of the prize without any limitations.

The non-compliance with the rules and the deadlines of the contest may entail a disqualification from the contest. The entrants must bear full legal responsibility for their entries and for all their consequences, which may also be a disqualification from the contest. The earlier (fellowship or prize) winners of the contest are not entitled to enter another contest for two years.